about hajj and umrah middle east saudi arabia

Difference between hajj and umrah

Hajj and `Umrah are the pilgrimages of Islam.

Hajj is usually referred to as the major pilgrimage or the Pilgrimage,and `Umrah as the lesser one.

Both Hajj and `Umrah consist of a journey to Makkah that involves certain rituals such as ihram, circumambulating the Ka`bah, walking between the hills of Safa and Marwah, and shaving or cutting the hair.

The above are the basic rituals of `Umrah while Hajj has these and additional rituals, including spending days and nights in `Arafah, Mina, and Muzdalifah – areas neighboring the city of Makkah.

Another difference between the major and minor pilgrimages is that there is a prescribed time for Hajj whereas `Umrah can be performed at any time in the year.

In addition, Hajj and `Umrah differ regarding the ruling of each of them as discussed below.

The ruling of Hajj is that it is a pillar (pillar) of Islam which means that it requires adherence to its rules for it to be considered valid Islamically

hajj and umrah

Hajj is one of the five pillars of Islam, meaning it is required in order to be a Muslim. It is also considered a great act of worship, and many Muslims make the pilgrimage at least once in their lifetime.

The Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) said: "Islam has been built on five [pillars]: testifying that there is no god but Allah and that Muhammed is the Messenger of Allah, performing the prayers, paying the zakah, making the pilgrimage to the House, and fasting in Ramadan."

As such, all Muslims are obligated to perform Hajj at least once in their lifetime if they meet certain age requirements and are able to do so. However, there are some who believe this obligation can be fulfilled by other forms of worship or spiritual activities as well.

 hajj and umrah view

Hajj and `Umrah

Little boys and girls are not required to do Hajj or `Umrah. It is acceptable and rewardable to let them participate with their families in performing Hajj and `Umrah, but they are still required to do Hajj and `Umrah again when they reach the age of puberty,

which can be verified by meeting one of the following criteria:

1. Having a wet dream

2. Ejaculating semen

3. Reaching the age of 15

4. Growing pubic hair

5. Menstruating

c. Are same Insane people are not required to perform the acts of worship until they regain their sanity.

d. Have the ability As it is clear from the above verse, Hajj is only required from those able to do it.

Hajj is an annual pilgrimage to Mecca that is required of all Muslims. If a person is unable to make Hajj, they are expected to send someone else in their place.

The first step in performing Hajj is finding out if the person needs to make it or not. There are three categories of people who are excused from performing Hajj:

ill people and those too old to perform Hajj, as well as those who are financially unable to afford it.

If you think that you might be one of these categories, here's what you can do:

1. Have your doctor write a letter saying that you are sick and cannot perform Hajj at this time.

2. Get an appointment with your local hospital so that they can give you a physical exam and then write a letter saying that you are too old to perform Hajj at this time (although it does not have to come from a doctor).

3. Find out if there is anyone else in your family who can go instead of you—if not, then either pay someone else or ask them if they would like to go instead!

Hajj is one of the Five Pillars of Islam, and every able-bodied Muslim must perform it at least once in their lifetime.

It is a critical aspect of Islamic belief and worship, which can be performed at any age.


4. There are 3 modes of Hajj: Ifrad, Tamatu`, and Qiran.

Ifrad is performed only once during a lifetime. It involves performing the rituals of Hajj only.

Tamatu` involves a complete `Umrah and a complete Hajj, each separated from the other. This means that the `Umrah is performed first in the months of Hajj and after completing it one goes out of the state of ihram.

Afterward on Dhul-Hijjah 8 one initiates ihram once again for performing Hajj.

Qiran is a combination of `Umrah and Hajj, performed with no break between them. After performing `Umrah one remains in the state of ihram until starting the rituals of Hajj on Dhul-Hijjah 8


Back to blog